DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
BUREAU OF RADIATION PROTECTION
APPLICATION AND FEE SCHEDULE
FOR REGISTRATION OF
RADIATION PRODUCING MACHINES
- 1 -
Registration of Radiation Producing Machines
The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection, Bureau of Radiation Protection
welcomes your request for this registration for radiation producing machines.
This portion of the application provides general registration information that will be of value to you
when you complete the written portion of the application.
The Department issues registrations for radiation producing machines under the provisions of the
Radiation Protection Act and respective regulations, which set forth requirements both to become
and to remain registered. The Department is responsible for enforcing the Radiation Protection
Act and our regulations.
It is imperative that you become familiar with our radiation protection regulations in the
Pennsylvania State Code, Title 25 Environmental Protection, available at www.pacode.com or a
copy of which is available upon request.
A registration is required for any person or entity possessing a radiation-producing machine.
Entities possessing a radiation-producing machine shall:
Register with the Department within 30 days after acquisition. Registration shall be
completed on forms furnished by the Department (enclosed) and shall contain information
required on the form and accompanying instructions.
Designate an individual to be responsible for radiation safety on the registration form.
Notify the Department in writing within 30 days of a change of address, owner,
radiation safety officer or number of machines.
Have a copy of the currently valid certificate of registration available for inspection by the
Department at the facility where the x-ray equipment is used.
A person possessing an accelerator has to have it licensed under PA Code Title 25
Chapter 228 (relating to radiation safety requirements for particle accelerators).
The registration becomes valid upon receipt of the properly completed registration form
the fee required under Chapter 218 (related to fees).
The Department will issue a certificate of registration to the entity whose registration
Transfer or Assignment
A certificate of registration issued by the Department may not be transferred, assigned, or
in any manner disposed of, either voluntary or involuntarily, to any entity without submitting
a written request to and receiving approval from the Department.
- 2 -
Payment of Registration Fees
PER TUBE FEE
All Other Facilities
Fees consist of an annual Administrative Fee in addition to an annual $50.00 per tube-head
assembly. An entity filing a registration under section 216.2 shall remit the appropriate fee
calculated by using the information above. If you need assistance calculating fees, please call
the Bureau of Radiation Protection at 717-787-3720.
Partial payments are not accepted for registration.
Fees for initial registration are payable upon the filing of the registration
Any overpayments will be refunded to registrant.
ANNUAL RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION
This registration must be renewed annually.
The Department will send an application for renewal to the registrant (invoice) at least two
months prior to the expiration date on the certificate of registration. The renewal becomes
valid upon receipt of the properly completed renewal application and fees.
Fees are payable by the last day of the registration month as shown on the registration fee
If you do not receive the renewal form two months prior to expiration, you should notify the
Department. Submittal of the renewal application and payment of the appropriate fee on
time is the registrants responsibility.
If there is an increase in the number of tubes after an initial registration or after an
application for renewal has been filed with the Department, no additional fee is required
until the time of the next registration renewal.
Likewise, if there is a decrease in the number of tubes during the year, no refund will be
If a registration is revoked or voluntarily terminated prior to its expiration date, the
registration fee will not be refunded in whole or in part.
Termination of Registration
This registration may not be voluntarily terminated without first submitting a “Terminating
Registration of Radiation Producing Machines” form. These forms are included in this
package of information. See Section 216.4
How and Where to Pay
Please complete the registration form included in this packet.
Retain a copy of the registration form with your machine(s) records.
Mail the original copy of the registration form, along with a check or money order in the
You must include payment with your registration or your form
will be returned to you and your registration will not be valid.
Mail the registration
the check or money order, payable to “
Bureau of Radiation Protection
PO Box 8469
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8469
Failure by registrant to pay required fee
(as set forth by Chapter 218.2)
X-ray equipment may not be possessed without a valid registration.
A registrant who fails to pay an annual fee required under this chapter shall be subject
to the civil and criminal penalties as provided under the Act.
Nonpayment of fees required by this chapter shall be cause for revocation of
registration issued by the Department under the Act.
For more information, please visit www.depweb.state.pa.us
, keyword: Radiation Protection.
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Department of Environmental Protection
An Equal Opportunity Employer